The Netherlands - Dog breeds list

The Netherlands is a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, consisting of twelve provinces in North-West Europe and three islands in the Caribbean. The European part of the Netherlands borders the North Sea to the north and west, and shares maritime borders with Belgium, Germany and the United Kingdom. The capital is Amsterdam and the seat of government is The Hague. The Netherlands is often referred to as “Holland”, although North and South Holland are actually only two of its provinces.

The dogs that originate in the Netherlands are quite a diverse group. There are eight dog breeds that are of Dutch origins. If you’re interested in acquiring a Dutch dog, you have different types of dogs from which you can pick. You could choose a companion dog like the Schapendoes, a hunting dog like the Dutch Decoy Spaniel or the Pointing Griffon, or even a shepherd or a guard dog like the Dutch Shepherd (Herdershonden Korthaar). The dogs of the Netherlands have multiple uses and skills therefore anyone looking for a dog should have no problem finding one here.